Pea Pesto Crostini

I dunno if you guys are as bad as me, but I’m going to guess you are since you’re reading this. But blogs are addicting. Like, really, really addicting. It’s hard to do real work. I get so sidetracked. You know what has made it even worse? Pinterest. Ugh. It’s the bane of my existence, seriously. There are so many pretty pictures! I click them all. And then I’m stuck on these dang blogs that are captivating for whatever crazy reason and I can’t. stop. reading.

So this pesto. I found it on a blog. Cupcakes and Cashmere, you heard of it? If you don’t want to become obsessed, I’m warning you now, don’t click on the link. It’ll suck you in. You won’t be able to stop. People, I don’t even give a flip about fashion and I can’t. stop. reading. And I think part of it is that every once in awhile, (and let’s face it, when you’re stalking food blogs which is what I normally stalk.. it’s more than just once in awhile.) you come across something like this pea pesto. And you try it because, well, why the heck not you always have frozen peas in the freezer and you really don’t know what to do with them otherwise, and then you love it. And you know why you obsess over these things we call blogs. Because they’re awesome. They are a source of inspiration and a way to escape from your desk job and make yourself drool over fabulous looking food, and then maybe even go home and try it. Because hey, if they can do it, so can I, right? right.

So let’s try this. Let’s try this pea pesto together. Tell me what you think. I think you’re gonna like it.

*ps. I originally wrote this post for the Magic Bullet Blog. Check it out here!*

Pea Pesto Crostini (found on Cupcakes and Cashmere; recipe adapted from Giada De Laurentis of Food Network)

Ingredients

  • 1 (10-ounce) package frozen peas, defrosted
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1/2 cup parmesan, grated
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • A loaf or two of crusty bread; a baguette works best here, but you could really use any kind of crusty bread.
  • olive oil for brushing
  • A handful of cherry or grape (or other small) tomatoes; sliced into chunks
Procedure
  1. In a blender or food processor, blend together peas, parmesean, salt, pepper, and 1/3 cup olive oil until smooth. Boom. Taste for seasoning and add more salt and pepper if necessary (this will depend on how salty your cheese is).  Set aside.
  2. Cut your crusty bread into slices; about 1/2 inch or so thick, maybe a little less. Brush on both sides with olive oil and grill or toast under the broiler on both sides. (if you do it under the broiler, watch them carefully! those suckers burn quick!)
  3. Spread your toast slices with a hefty portion of the pea pesto, top with a slice of tomato and dig right in there! You should probably share, but I won’t judge you if you eat two or three before you bring the plate around..
3 responses to “Pea Pesto Crostini

  1. To heck with the pea pesto, how did you get those photographs? What camera are you using? Don’t tell me it’s a cell phone!

  2. OMG this looks amazing. I want!! And I totally agree, blogging has taken over my life-they are way too addicting and there are so many awesome ones out there! ahhh

Leave me a reply here!

