Strawberry Summer Cake

This was another of the epic-dessertbaking-series that occurred after my oven-less stint in China. And this one, well, it’s going to happen again soon. Because people loved it. It got scooped up so fast not only did I not even get a bite, but I didn’t get  picture either. But I’m thinking that nothing at a dessert buffet runs out that quickly unless it’s something to make again. And again. and again.

And I have some news as well. This summer, the Allmann-Updyke household is embarking on a challenge. A fitness challenge. A healthy living challenge. And so, I am not allowed to bake as often as I would like. I’ll still be baking. More than I probably should, but we’ll be giving food away to co-workers, friends, and perhaps unsuspecting neighbors as well. But it also means that we are performing lots of new experiments in the kitchen. Because I refuse to eat healthy things for the sake of eating healthy things and I am determined to make things that I still want to eat. So begins a new chapter in Mohala Kitchen. I am looking forward to the challenge, and I hope you all stick around for the ride.

But for now, here’s a cake. Gotta go out with a bang, I suppose.

Strawberry Summer Cake (adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

Ingredients

  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature, plus extra for greasing
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon table salt
  • 1 cup  plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup  milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1 pound  strawberries, hulled and halved

Procedure

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Grease a 9 or 10 inch deep dish pie plate, or if you don’t have a deep dish pie plate, use a 9 or 10 in cake pan or springform pan.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and salt. In a larger bowl (or the bowl of your stand mixer with the paddle attachment) cream together the butter and 1 cup sugar until light and fluffy.  Mix in the egg, milk, vanilla and almond extracts until combined. Add the flour mixture in in thirds, mixing too incorporate all the dry between each addition.
  3. Pour into prepared pan and arrange* strawberries on top, cut side down in a single layer*. Sprinkle remaining 2 tbsp sugar on top of the berries.
  4. Bake for 10 minutes at 350F then reduce heat to 325F and bake until edges are brown and center is set, and a toothpick comes out clean, about an hour. Though I’d check it early. Mine took way longer but the oven never really lowered temperature I think, so the edges got quite brown and the center never did, but who cares it turned out good. Allow to cool before cutting. Cake will keep at room temperature, though  I don’t know how long for as ours was gone in about 15 minutes. And I made two. woah.

*Notes: My strawberries were GINORMOUS and could not feasibly fit in a single layer, nor could they be ‘arranged’. So I just shoved and squeezed them all on there. the cake bakes up around the berries anyways so it’s not a big deal. Just make sure they cover the whole cake. YUM!

3 responses to “Strawberry Summer Cake

  1. That looks truly wonderful – almost like my strawberry clafoutis. I adore strawberry based cakes.

    • I just looked at your strawberry clafoutis and I’m going to have to try that one next it looks fantastic!!

  2. Pingback: Well hey there, Puddin’! |

Leave me a reply here!

