Superbowl Snacks: Pizza Pockets

This Sunday marks the end of the great season we know as Football. Many of you might be awfully broken up about it. But this year I’m not for three reasons. 1. the Chargers failed so hard this year I want to pretend it never happened. 2. I just plain hate the Patriots and the NYGiants aren’t much better. Not-so-super-bowl in my book this year. and 3. UH baseball starts soon. Whoo!

   

   

But, regardless of how I wish both teams could just lose this year, I’m still going to watch and I’m still going to yell and shout and drink a bunch of beer and eat a bunch of food. We actually got invited to someone else’s house for the superbowl this year (which is kind of a big deal for us..), so I’m really excited to bring over some snacks. The first of which will be these pizza pockets.

Think Totinos Pizza Rolls..but better. And not loaded with stabilizers and preservatives. So healthier for you. Also funner to make (yeah, that’s right. funner.) And cuter. And also more explosive, which I’m sure if you were better at squeezing dough than me, perhaps yours wouldn’t have the cheese squirts quite as bad as mine. But these were fun to make and eat nonetheless. So if you’re looking for some football-spiration to make watching two teams you’re just not that into a little bit more bearable, I’m thinking these aren’t a bad way to go.

**Looking for more Superbowl snack ideas?? how about grown-up rice krispy treats,  whole wheat cheez-its, garlicky french fries or any number of cupcakes?

Pizza Pockets

Ingredients

  1. Pizza dough (I used this recipe, but you could just as easily buy dough or use a recipe you know and love)
  2. Pizza sauce (buy it if there’s one you like, but it’s just as easy to throw a can of crushed tomatoes on the stove with some basil, a splash of olive oil and salt and pepper. Cook it a few minutes and then let it cool. mmmm)
  3. shredded mozzerella cheese. (you could use whatever cheese you like, but mozz is always our preference. also you can kind of put whatever you want in a pizza pocket, just chop it small.)

Steps:

Preheat your oven to about 400 (fail. I heated ours too hot thinking we were making normal pizza. 400 should work I think.) Roll out your pizza dough as thin as you can on a well floured  surface. Mark 4X4inch squares and then load each square with a scoop of sauce and a pinch of cheese. resist the urge to overstuff  or yours will explode like mine. Cut out squares, and then fold squares in half over filling and pinch edges very very tightly. poke holes in the top with a fork to vent. Bake for 12-15minutes or until golden and oozy.

*a note. We split our dough in half and rolled out each half and laid another piece of dough on top of our mounds of sauce and cheese. That’s why our pictures look the way they do. I don’t recommend this. I tried bigger squares and folding with the leftover dough and this worked much better, so that is what I recommend you do, they should explode less that way. Although I’ve never known someone to complain about cheese-splosions..

Leave me a reply here!

