I made cheez-its. seriously.


I mean, no joke. As in, this is not a joke. These things taste exactly like cheez-its. But don’t be like my mother. When I called her, literally bursting with joy at the cheezygoodness that was hommemade cheez-its in my mouth, she just laughed. She laughed and then said “what’s the point of that? can’t you just buy them?” Jeez, mother. I mean, cmon! I’m clearly so excited here!!

      

seriously though, before you say the same thing she did, check this out: they’re made with 100% whole wheat flour. chyeah!! that’s right!! whole-effing-wheat! (Didn’t I mention I’m having a little tryst with whole wheat at the moment? It’s awesome. I hope I never stop.) Also, I’m sure this is not the case in, uh, any other state in the US, but it is true in Hawaii: packaged foods are ding-dang expensive and coupons are few and far between. Seriously, a box of cheerio-s is like 7 bucks. ridic. I dunno if making these were really any cheaper, but man. They were delicious. Seriously. go try them. pronto. 

Whole Wheat Cheese Crackers (adapted from smittenkitchen)

Ingredients

  1. 1 1/2 cups sharp cheddar, grated
  2. 4 tablespoons butter, cut into chunks.
  3. 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  4. 1/4 teaspoon table salt
Procedure
  • preheat oven to 350 degrees. dump all ingredients into a food processor (if you only have a tiny one like me, do this in batches)  and pulse until a ball forms.
  • dump (lots of dumping in this recipe, huh?) the dough onto a well-floured surface and if it feels soft, wrap it in plastic and put it in the fridge or freezer for 10-20 minutes until it is cold enough to work with. roll out dough until it is very, very thin (the thinner the dough, the crispier the cracker), about 1/8 inch.
  • cut out whatever shape of crackers you like (I only have round cutters, but after testing out this recipe now I have a reason to get teeny-tiny alphabet cutters!!) and use a fork to poke some holes in the top.
  • transfer cutouts to a parchment-lined baking sheet and bake for 12-15 minutes, or until lightly browned. they will spread slightly, so leave a little space between crackers.
  • let cool completely on a rack before eating; then eat and enjoy!!!
2 responses to “I made cheez-its. seriously.

  1. yum!! I’m def going to try this out – how fun! ❤

  2. Pingback: Superbowl Snacks: Pizza Pockets | tiny street. tiny kitchen. big flavor.

Leave me a reply here!

