Mixed Berry Scones: You tricky, tricksters, you.

I have a new obsession. Before I tell you what it is, just promise me you won’t judge me for it. Promise me you won’t think I’m obnoxious. Or pretentious. Or overly concerned with health. Because trust me, I am none of those things. Okay. Ready? I am currently obsessed with…Whole Wheat Flour

  

I know, I know, it’s annoying sounding and it’s one of those trendy food things that people are doing and blah blah blah. BUT WAIT, you promised you wouldn’t judge! Let me let you in on a little secret: it’s awesome. Look, let’s be honest here, one look around my recipes and you’ll know I’m not a health freak. However, I am in public health now and I feel that this field comes with certain responsibilities. I’m not about to give up cupcakes or ice cream or fried food (or  a sausage mcmuffin when I’m hung over..) but I do find myself trying to get in some of those “daily recommended amounts” or whatever they’re called. Turns out, it’s not really all that difficult to eat healthy things if you just trick yourself. All you have to do is hide the healthy in something so delicious it can handle. 

While we’re being honest, lord knows I don’t eat enough whole grains. And seriously, do you? (If you do, you impress me. You can stop reading now because clearly you are better than me. and I want to be like you.) Cmon.. white bread? Dosen’t count. White rice? Doesn’t count. Pasta? Doesn’t count. Sucks, doesn’t it? But white bread and pasta and rice is so…good. Yum. So I have decided to share with you some of my tricks. I have been very, very tricky lately. I’ve made whole wheat just-about-everything and let me tell you the best part: I can’t even tell!!

Wait!! I know that you’ve heard this before! I know that you don’t believe me! But have I ever lied to you before?? I promise you, people, I’m not a liar! And I take my baked goods very, very seriously. If it tastes like healthy I just plain won’t eat it. Unless it’s slathered in butter or cream cheese. So when I say “you won’t even notice the whole wheat flour” or “it’ll taste exactly the same as regular flour” please, trust me. I really mean it. 

So without further rambling, here’s attempt number one: Whole Wheat Mixed Berry SCONES. Best  scones ever. Really, ever. Plus, they’re effing healthy for you, people! Didn’t you hear?! whole. wheat.flour. go ahead! have two! have seven! ‘sall good! They count toward your daily allowance of whole grains. and fruit. double win.

The Best (And totally completely healthy if you ignore the butter and cream) Scones Ever (adapted from SmittenKitchen)

Ingredients

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour (just do it. trust me)
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 5 tbsp chilled, unsalted butter, cut into  cubes
  • 1/2 cup (or more if you’re feeling crazy) mixed berries, fresh or frozen. Steer clear of strawberries though, as they would be weird I think.  (I used frozen since berries don’t grow in Hawaii)
  • 1 cup heavy cream (pretend that it’s.. not.. bad for you.. you could probably use some combination of plain yogurt and milk.. but why would you want to?)
Procedure
  1. preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. Whisk together flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt. Cut in butter either using a fork, two knives, your hands, or a food processor if you’re fancy. (I always use my hands, pretty much.) Do it like you were making pie dough, until the butter is in little pieces throughout the flour mixture.
  3. Stir in berries and mash them up a bit (especially big berries like blackberries. Blueberries you don’t need to smash, they smash themselves during baking.) Then stir in cream until just mixed.
  4. Turn the “dough”** out onto a well-floured board. Mold it into a circle about 3/4 in thick (I can’t remember how wide mine was.. just keep pressing it into a circle until your whole circle is the same thickness, 3/4 in)
  5. Cut into 8 wedges, place on ungreased (or parchment lined) baking sheet and bake for 12-15 min or until edges are lightly browned.
  6. BEST PART!! (besides that you will not taste the whole wheat flour, and that berries are also health food..) if you aren’t going to eat all 8 scones at once, freeze them UNCOOKED on a baking sheet until frozen through, then throw them in a bag and keep them in the freezer. You can bake them frozen whenever you need a scone, they’ll just take a few more minutes! That’s probably why my other obsession at the moment is scones and biscuits. Seriously, the other day I baked some scones I had frozen back in August and they were still perfect.
  7. EAT AND ENJOY! (And feel so good about yourself for eating healthy. hah!)
**note: My dough was ridiculously sticky. I think this is because of the juice of the berries. So do your best mashing them into a roundish shape, and keep everything (including yourself and the knife you use to cut them) extremely well floured. Whatevs, they tasted delissshhh.
One response to “Mixed Berry Scones: You tricky, tricksters, you.

  1. As usual, looks great… maybe someday I’ll actaully try and bake something…..nah, unlikely. 🙂 Love you! Mom

Leave me a reply here!

