Angels and Cake

When my Grandma died, just under 3 years ago, I was literally on the other side of the globe and completely isolated from my family. I couldn’t go home to see her before she passed, and I couldn’t make it to her funeral. Luckily, Brett was visiting, and between him, a giant flower, the friends I had made there, and substantial amounts of ice cream, I got through it. I made a giant chocolate cake in remembrance of her, which I think she would have liked.

     

What I learned from that experience, is that losing the ones you love is extremely hard, but having family and friends that love you around can make it easier. My Grandpa passed away this past weekend. It was hard, and it’s still hard, to realize I’ll never see him sitting in his chair again, but I got to say goodbye to him, and I have a huge, amazing family, and the best friends the world has ever seen, so I know I’ll be okay eventually. I don’t know my Grandpa’s favorite kind of cake, so I don’t know what to make in his honor (Family: if you let me know what it is, I’ll make it pronto). But about a month ago for Brett’s birthday, I made angel food cake for the first time. And I feel it is an appropriate thing to share now. This cake is for you, G-Pa: I hope you’re eating some with real angels, and that G-Ma has a giant slice of double chocolate.

Angel Food Cake 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cake flour
  • 1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 2/3 cup egg whites (12-14 egg whites)
  • 1 1/2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract

Procedure: 

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Sift flour and confectioner’s sugar into a small bowl. set aside.
  2. In a very large bowl, beat egg whites, cream of tartar and salt until foamy with a mixer (with whisk attachment) at medium speed. Increase speed to medium-high and beat until soft peaks form. With mixer still going, sprinkle in sugar a few tablespoons at a time, beating until sugar has dissolved and the egg whites are stiff, glossy peaks. Beat in vanilla and almond extracts.
  3. Sift flour mixture, 1/3 at a time, over beaten egg whites; fold in with rubber spatula until just incorporated. Do NOT overmix.
  4. Scrape batter into an ungreased 9 or 10-inch tube pan [SEE NOTE] and spread evenly. Bake until cake springs back when pressed; about 35 to 40 minutes. Invert cake in pan over a bottle; cool completely. Run thin knife around cake to loosen; remove from pan and place on cake. Serve with fruit and whipped cream. Eat and Enjoy!
[NOTE:] I do NOT own a tube pan, and though a bundt pan would suffice. Turns out, the ridges on the pan make the cake stick horribly; hence the ugly outside. This does not affect the flavor, but does affect how it looks. So if you don’t have a tube pan, ask your friends, family or neighbors, and if none of them have a tube pan, are any of them really going to care what it looks like? If you’re a perfectionist when it comes to your desserts (ahem. me) then go ahead, buy yourself a tube pan. You now have a legitimate need for it. 
4 responses to “Angels and Cake

  1. I’m sorry for you loss. I have to say that this cake looks incredible though.

  2. I sweethart,
    I think Dads favorite desert is bannana cream pie, he may also have a favorite cake, like moms was chocolate. BTW I also like banana cream pie but you don’t have to wait to make it for me.
    Love Dad

  3. Pingback: Meet Rosie, and her cakes | tiny street. tiny kitchen. big flavor.

Leave me a reply here!

