Blueberry Muffins!

So, as I looked through the recipes page here, I realized something: the ratio of desserts to everything else on this site is extremely lopsided. So I looked through some of my most recent posts, and lo and behold, the last four were some type of cake. Hm, obsession much? Clearly, I have a sweet tooth and clearly, I am incapable of growing out of it. Not that I’ve tried very hard.

So, I figured I ought to do a post that wasn’t a dessert. But I couldn’t bring myself to go all the way. Sure, I’ve made some tasty dinners lately, but I’m sitting here watching law and order and I don’t feel like talking about gyoza or stuffed peppers. I’m sure I will eventually, but right now, I want to talk about muffins. Blueberry muffins.

Out here, berries are not common. They don’t grow in tropical weather and they don’t last long, so when they are shipped out here they’re usually less-than-perfect and horrendously expensive. Like, no joke, 7 bucks a pint. I love berries as much as the next gal, but I am not about to dish out 10 bucks on fruit just to shove it in a muffin, so when I do shell out the dough I eat them straight, or maybe with some yogurt. But fruity-tooty cakes and muffins are oh-so-tasty! So when I saw a HUGE tub of blueberries on sale for 6 dollars (six!! six dollars! and i probably got a gallon or something!) I was stoked. Visions of pancakes, scones, and muffins studded with sticky sweet-tart blueberry goo swam before my eyes as I drove home far too quickly. And that Saturday? I made blueberry muffins. Yum.

    

Blueberry Muffins (from bake! by Nick Malgieri) 

This muffin recipe is great because you can swap out the blueberries for literally anything: raspberries, strawberries, chocolate chips, I’ve made them with carrots, apple and raisin, the possibilities are endless.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all purpose flour (you could probably use whole wheat for some of this, though lord knows, I didn’t)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 stick melted butter
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 cups rinsed, dried blueberries (the recipe also calls for 1 tsp lemon zest to be mixed with the liquids; I didn’t have any lemons but I know this would brighten up the muffins, so if you do, use it)
  • cinnamon-sugar for sprinkling

Procedure

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 and line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper liners
  2. In a medium bowl, mix flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt
  3. pour butter into another mixing bowl and whisk in egg and then milk
  4. mix in 1/3 of the flour at a time until absorbed; once all flour has been added, add the blueberries and mix until distributed evenly
  5. scoop or pour into prepared muffin tins and sprinkle cinnamon-sugar on top
  6. bake until tops are golden and risen; about 20 minutes.
  7. cool, eat and enjoy!!

2 responses to “Blueberry Muffins!

  1. oooooh how i miss eating blueberry muffins! and those look delicious!

Leave me a reply here!

