St Patty’s Homemade Pesto!

So. I  bought a food processor. And I made pesto. But I fail, because this was about a month ago. Let me explain. 

Though this blog is meant to be like an online journal of sorts documenting my attempts to cook and bake…I do not treat this as my journal (luckily for you, actually because I start my journals “dearest journal” and I end with “love, erin” and that could get awkward.) What that means is, I don’t update as frequently or up-to-dately as I would a journal. This is what I do:

I hoard photos on my camera and I stockpile posts of the things I’ve hoarded photos of, and when I have enough photos to merit uploading them, I throw them all on my computer and slowly publish the posts. Is that weird? I feel like it is. Because I read so many other food blogs (wanna know which ones? check that sidebar over there—>) and they all say things like “yesterday I made this” or “Wednesday, for so-and-so’s birthday” when it’s Friday. And I think.. hm. all mine are at least two weeks old…

Well whatever, the food is still good, right? Right. I feel I’ve justified myself by being honest. Therefore this trend will probably continue. Just so you are aware.


So even though I made the pesto a month ago, I’m sharing it now because.. well.. it’s green! and tomorrow is St Patrick’s day and it requires all food consumed to be green! I know it’s not Irish, but at least it’s green! Counts for something.  And truth be told, I just made a brand new batch of it! just for this! see?!?( Actually about half the pictures here are from round 1 a month ago and half are from 30 minutes ago..)

And tomorrow I will make something slightly more irish out of pesto pasta… meaning I will add potatoes. bahaha.

St Patty’s homemade Pesto! (from The Good Housekeeping Cookbook and the pamphlet that came with my food processor)

Ingredients

  • big huge handful of basil (about a cup)
  • big huge handful of parsley (about a cup)
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 2 tbsp toasted pine nuts
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese, cut in cubes (or shredded if you prefer)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil

Procedure

  1. throw everything except the olive oil into the food processor
  2. add 1 tbsp olive oil
  3. chop chop chop!!
  4. slowly drizzle in the remaining olive oil while the processor is running until it looks completely delicious!

A side note: my food processor is the tiny 4 cup one, so we had to chop each item individually (first cheese, take it out, then nuts, take them out, then greens, garlic and oil, then add in the rest then drizzle in oil) but if you have a big processor I don’t think you have to do that. This makes a very thick and chunky and super delicious pesto!! enjoy!

4 responses to “St Patty’s Homemade Pesto!

  1. Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing this post. I really enjoy reading your blog. Feel free to check out our recipes.

  2. Hi Erin,
    Your portfolio of recipes is only matched by the portfolio of really nice photos. I really enjoy it. You should consider doing a book.
    Love dad

  3. Pingback: hazelnut cake with chocolate ganache | tiny street. tiny kitchen. big flavor.

  4. Pingback: Arugula Pesto : Magic Bullet Blog

Leave me a reply here!

