My sugar problem. (and a coffee cake recipe)

Brett said recently that we eat too many sweets.

Let me put this into context. We got a really good deal (86% off, anyone?) on these fitness classes, so we decided that working out intensely was the perfect way to get a jump-start on our new year’s resolution of being more active. (Ps. does anyone ever have a new years resolution that doesn’t involve working out? It’s no wonder we never stick to them…sweat sucks) So we both agreed that we should make some small adjustments to our diets in order to help us achieve our fitness goals. In other words, we are trying to be more healthy. “Don’t we pretty much eat healthy-ly though?” I said (in admittedly bad English) “Well…” he replied, “we eat a lot of sweets.” …

I was speechless. ‘what??‘ I thought. ‘too many..sweet..but…what?‘ I didn’t have a response. Sugar is probably my favorite thing. Um. Ever. Some people like salty things, some people like savory things, some people like spicy things. Me? Give me some sugar and I am a happy camper. Now if you mix that sugar with any combination of flour, butter and eggs… well then I’m just in heaven! So to me, saying that “we eat a lot of sweets” is like saying “we breathe too often.” Saying “we should cut down on desserts” is like saying “we should try to stop thinking.”  Seriously, unheard of. And quite impossible.

But after a few days of thinking about it (and looking in our kitchen which only has 2 food cupboards and realizing that almost one whole one was dedicated to sweets) I consented that.. “well… I guess we do kind of eat a lot of sweets..” I wasn’t ready to give them up. That’s blasphemy. I’ll never consent to that. But I did (eventually) agree that we should maybe not eat dessert every night…and at every lunch time. Ok, maybe I had a bit of a dependency problem. And perhaps a cavity or two. “Ok. You’re right. We should only eat dessert 3 nights a week. or maybe 4. but definitely not 7.”

I made a decision to cut down on the sugar intake.

Then the next day I decided I wanted to make a cinnamon crumb cake. (I couldn’t find a recipe I liked so I did a cinnamon coffee cake instead. Same flavors, so it did the trick)

It’s a breakfast cake! So it doesn’t count as dessert! hah! I beat my own system!

Now what did that have to do with anything? Well, nothing I suppose. I just felt like I needed to tell the whole story. Because I did make the cake. And it was delicious. And we ate it. Not just me, Brett too. So we both have a problem. We haven’t cut down our sugar intake. I don’t know if we will be able to. But you should try this cake, it’s really really good.

“The Perfect Coffee Cake” (adapted from the Good Housekeeping Cookbook)

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 3 cups + 1 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 sticks butter, softened
  • 2  tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 large eggs
  • 16 oz plain yogurt (they often come in 32 oz containers, I just used half. the original recipe calls for sour cream, but I didn’t have any on hand)
  • (you can also add 3/4 cups chopped pecans if you like nuts, I didn’t have any so I didn’t use them)

Procedure

  1. preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and lightly flour 12-cup bundt pan
  2. In medium bowl, with wire wisk, stir baking powder, baking soda, salt, and 3 cups flour. In a small bowl, stir together brown sugar, cinnamon, and remaining 1 tbsp flour (and nuts, if using).
  3. In large bowl (I know, lots of bowls, right?) beat sugar, butter, and vanilla with mixer at medium speed, until creamy. Beat in eggs, one at a time. Alternately beat in flour mixture and sour cream, beginning and ending with flour mixture. Beat until just blended, occasionally scraping the bowl.
  4. Evenly spread 1/3 of the batter (about 2 cups) in the prepared bundt pan. Top with half the sugar mixture. Top with 1/2 the remaining batter (about another 2 cups) and then top that with the remaining sugar mixture, and then top with the remaining batter. Bake until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, about 50-60 minutes. Cool cake in pan on rack for 10 minutes, then invert onto rack to cool completely
  5. (You can swirl a glaze of powdered sugar and milk on top, but I chose not to. Trying to cut down on the sugar, remember?) Enjoy with a tall glass of milk. Or coffee, I guess. Coffee. Cake. Yeah it’d go good with coffee. 
4 responses to “My sugar problem. (and a coffee cake recipe)

  1. You always make me literally LOL ;D the cake looks delicious and it’s for breakfast so that definitely doesn’t count!

  2. Pingback: vanilla bean cupcakes! | tiny street. tiny kitchen. big flavor.

  3. Pingback: cranberry upside down YUM | tiny street. tiny kitchen. big flavor.

Leave me a reply here!

