Homemade Granola

I really love granola. Don’t you? I mean, it’s so crunchy and yummy and delicious, especially with some yummy yummy yogurt and some fruit on top. But the bummer about it is.. it’s kind of expensive. And I can never find brands at the store that I like… unless they’re like one million dollars for a bag. Yes, I know, I exaggerate, but still! So I have embarked on a quest to create the perfect granola-at home.

The first time I made granola was over the summer and I’ve made it several times since then. Every time I’ve used a slightly different recipe (or no recipe at all..) and every time the granola has turned out differently, and never has it been perfect. It’s either too sticky and not crunchy, or crunchy but doesn’t cluster, or tastes funny and doesn’t cluster but at least it’s almost crunchy… or I don’t even know but it’s not my dream granola. Saturday I tried again. This time, the granola turned out as close to what I want as I’ve gotten so far. It’s still not perfect, because even though its nice and crunchy and the flavor is good… there aren’t really any clustery bits which is my favorite part of granola. But still, its a pretty decent recipe so I thought I’d share. Enjoy!!

Homemade Granola (kind of a combination of this one by Martha Stewart and this one on epicurious.com)

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup flaxseed
  • 1/2 cup roasted salted pistachios, chopped or crushed
  • 3/4 cup roasted almonds, chopped or crushed
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 stick (4 tbsp) butter
  • 1 cup your favorite dried fruits (I used 1/2 cup each of raisins and blueberries)

Procedure:

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Line 1-2 baking sheets with foil (optional, but makes cleanup much easier)
  2. Toss together the oats, nuts, and flaxseed in a large bowl.
  3. In a small saucepan, melt the butter over medium-low heat. Add in the honey and brown sugar and mix until all is dissolved and combined.
  4. Pour the honey-butter mixture over the oat mixture and toss well to combine.
  5. Spread mixture on one or two prepared baking sheets and bake for about 30 minutes, stirring once or twice during the baking process.
  6. **I recommend two sheets, especially if yours are small, so you get even browning and cooking. You can also rotate the baking sheets on the top and bottom halfway through so they brown evenly.
  7. Remove from oven and let cool and then toss with the dried fruit. Serve with yogurt or milk for a yummy and filling breakfast!
Leave me a reply here!

