Rat-a-tat..ooowheeee


That title sounded a lot cooler in my head. Its supposed to be cool. Like Ratatouille… but you know… cooler.

Fail.

Anyways. I feel like everyone has heard of ratatouille because of the movie, right? But have you ever had ratatouille?

Ok so it’s not that extravagant or difficult or rare of a dish, so you probably have. But it’s still very delicious either way soooo I thought I ought to talk about it. The first time I ever had ratatouille was when I was studying abroad in France, my friend’s homestay mom made it for us for dinner. Um.. YUM! She was also a little bit crazy (super nice, very sweet and a great cook.. but a little cookoo nonetheless) and so she forced that ratatouille down our throats until I was about to burst. Actually, I might have burst a little. And that’s saying something because I’m a pretty dang good eater.

So when I got back to school, and my friend in france became my roommate, she taught me how to make it (Her real mom was french, so she used to make it for her when she was little) . Hands down the best part of this dish, besides the fact that it is delicious and warm and yummy is the fact that it is vegetarian… but even my dad will eat it without asking “where’s the beef?” In fact.. my dad hates eggplant, which is one of the main parts of the dish… and he went back for seconds. BOOM. fooled ya, daddy-o! So trust me, that this is so good you should absolutely make it. With an egg on top. Yes. An egg. I don’t know how traditional that is, but my roommate swore by it, and now so do I. I love eggs.

Ratatouille (from my roommate’s mom)

Ingredients:

  • 1 large zucchini
  • 1 large yellow squash
  • 1/2 large eggplant (or 2-3 japanese eggplants or 5 of the tiniest skinny ones that we got in chinatown)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely diced
  • 1/4 large white or yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 1 can crushed or diced tomatos, liquid partially drained
  • salt and pepper to taste (I actually remembered the salt and pepper this time! go me!)
  • 2 eggs

Procedure:

  1. cut the zucchini, yellow squash and eggplant in any chunky formation you like. (you could just cut it into rounds, or into a very large dice, or whatever, really. As long as it’s chunky) Set aside.
  2. In a 4 quart saucepan, heat the oil over medium heat. Add in the onions and cook for  a couple minutes. Then add in the garlic and cook until fragrant and the onions are translucent, about 7-9 minutes (random numbers, I know.)
  3. Add in all the squashes, toss with the garlic-onions, and turn the heat down to low. Put the lid on and let the mixture cook for about 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  4. Open and partially drain a can of tomatoes. Add them into the pot with all the rest of everything and mix well. At this point, add the salt and pepper to taste. Put the lid back on and let it cook for a long time
  5. (this is going to sound weird.. but you can let this cook for anywhere from 25-30 minutes to two hours. The longer it cooks, the more delicious it gets. But even after 25 minutes, the veggies should be nice and soft and falling apart.)
  6. When you’re just about ready to serve it up, heat a skillet over medium heat. Melt in some butter and cook up one egg per person. I like them over-easy, but you could go as far as over-medium if you are grossed out by goo. Don’t cook them hard, it won’t be tasty.
  7. Serve the ratatouille in a bowl with the over-easy egg on top and a big hunk of fresh-baked bread on the side. (This recipe serves 2 plus leftovers)
Leave me a reply here!

