To the carnival!

Is it a fair.. or is it a carnival? I really don’t know what the difference is. Apparently, though, there is one. According to Brett anyway. But I have yet to pin down what exactly the difference is between “carnival” and “fair”. I wonder if this will become an obsession until I can have a satisfactorily different definition for each, like the time I became obsessed with figuring out what the actual, definable difference is between a cupcake and a muffin.* Because in that case, there is clearly a difference, and it’s bigger than just frosting-no-frosting.

Well, even though I don’t know the difference, we went to a carnival/fair today!! (according to Brett this one was in fact, a carnival and NOT  a fair… and granted it was called the “Punahou Carnival” and not the “Punahou Fair”..whatever. same difference to me).  So what’s the best part of a fairnival? (I just made that word up! I like it…)

FOOD! Namely, fried food. Boy oh boy did we eat a lot of it! But it’s okay because we went to bootcamp this morning. So it all evens out… Right? Exactly.Um sos basically, we ate a lot. I mean.. really… really a lot.  So here are six things I discovered while I was there.

1. malasadas are the best version of fried dough. Except maybe nutella beingets. 

2. Deep fried twinkies are actually delicious. Maybe not sixteen tickets delicious, but still delicious. And yes, you can judge me for eating one. In fact, you probably should.

3. Not everyone can handle the tilt-a-whirl immediately following the deep fried twinkie. I can, but not everyone can. (he looks happy because this picture was before the ride started…)

4. Candied apples are far inferior to carmel apples. Tongue stained, teeth broken, lesson learned.

 

5. You must eat an equal number of sweet and salty foods to combat a sugar high. You should also try to eat at 50% or more of the booths.. an eating partner will really help in this case.

6.  Make sure you win at least one stuffed animal. Word of advice: the toss the dime game really is impossible.

*ps. If you would like to know, the official difference between a muffin and a cupcake is that a muffin is a mini-bread.. much like, for instance, banana bread, while a cupcake is a mini cake, much like, for instance, a chocolate cake. A chocolate muffin would NOT become a cupcake if it were frosted, nor would a carrot cupcake become a muffin were it sans frosting. For clarity’s sake.. I’d like to christen muffins “cupbreads”. poof. confusion vanished. you’re welcome.

Leave me a reply here!

