steak and fries done right

Yesterday… was my first day of real bootcamp. Ok not like, army real bootcamp or anything. But fitness bootcamp nonetheless. And once again, I could have died. But you know what the worst part is? It’s not the fact that I can’t breathe for the whole hour, not the fact that I’m sore for days afterwards, not the fact that I have so little muscle in my arms I can’t do a single pull-up… no. The worst part is the fact that the little tiny adorable lady who is running the bootcamp is so freakin adorable. she’s tiny and cute and smiley and way too perky and way NOT sweaty enough and she does it all with you!! what’s that about! I don’t want to be told “c’mon guys! push yourselves! you can do it!” by someone who looks like that when I’m sitting there, tomato red in the face, literally sweating buckets, breathing as raggedly as if I was a 40-year smoker and wondering what would happen to me if I fell right off those pull-up bars.

Its brutal.

But the BEST part of working out intensely? I get to eat whatever I want afterwards! That is how it works, right? work out a little bit… eat a bunch…work out a bunch… eat even more? Well that’s how it’s gonna have to work for me, anyway.

So obviously after an hour of sweating and eyeball strain from glaring at my instructor, I managed to work out quite an appetite. (hah! get it.. its a joke.. instead of work up.. work..out.. cuz..yeah…). So we went to the store and got way more food than we were intending (which is always what happens when you go to the store starving) and we came home and made steak and fries. mmmmm. We tried to be healthy-ish.. so we also ate a salad. And we split one giant steak between us instead of eating a whole one each, and then split the leftover steak for lunch today. I also only cooked ONE potato and we managed to make it last for dinner yesterday AND  lunch today. (ps. how awesome is it to make enough food for leftovers the next day. yum!) These may sound like baby steps, but people believe me when I tell you, for us these are big steps!

So I decided to put the recipe for the potatoes on here because I just think they are too delicious not to.

Garlicky Oven Fries (significantly adapted from Barefoot Contessa)

Ingredients

  • 1 large baking potato (washed, unpeeled)
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 sprig rosemary, finely chopped
  • couple swirls olive oil (sorry.. i’m bad at measuring)
  • *optional: salt and pepper (honestly. I constantly forget the salt and pepper, but I don’t think you really need it.. the garlic and olive oil are so delicious you can make this low sodium without losing taste if you like)

Procedure

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees with a rack somewhere in the middle of the oven. Line a cookie sheet with foil.
  2. Cut the potatoes either into thick fat wedges or thin slices. (your choice, both are delicious. Thin slices means you think you’re eating a lot but really you aren’t eating as much. If you cut thick wedges you’ll eat a whole potato yourself for sure. which really isn’t a bad thing)
  3. In a bowl, toss the potatoes with the garlic, olive oil, rosemary and salt and pepper (if using).
  4. Spread the potatoes out in a single layer on the cookie sheet and bake for about 30-45 minutes depending on the thickness of the slices. Flip potatoes over once halfway through cooking to ensure both sides brown. Serves 2 easily

You can serve these fries with literally anything.. but my favorite is with a nice grilled steak topped with gorgonzola cheese. Wow. I wish I hadn’t just finished my leftovers.. I want more.

3 responses to “steak and fries done right

  1. umm… i totally regret visiting your blog… because i am STARVING now!! 😉 everything looks absolutely delicious! I can’t wait to try out some of your recipes once i wipe my drool from the keyboard 😛

    Xox,
    An

    PS I’ve never been able to do an actual pull up on my own 😦 lol

  2. Pingback: Superbowl Snacks: Pizza Pockets | tiny street. tiny kitchen. big flavor.

Leave me a reply here!

