big fat breakfast

 

So. Saturday morning I woke up early and went to bootcamp.  Yes, that’s right. Bootcamp. It was one of the most intense experiences of my life. For a good twenty minutes at the beginning I really thought that I might keel over and die right there on the sand. And for some reason I decided it would be a good idea to continue doing this four days a week for a month. I start tonight. Dear lord, wish me luck.

But what came out of this was something really spectacular. I came home and ate a mountain of breakfast. Why?Because I deserved it. I worked out. Which I never do…and the bootcamp claims that you burn 800 calories in a mere 45 minutes, so I figured I had to eat about a thousand when I got home… you know.. just in case. I was ridiculously starving, and I couldn’t think entirely straight, I just knew I wanted a whole lot of food. So I tried to make something new (which, for me doesn’t always work) but this time it turned out pretty good. I honestly just threw together whatever I had. I would change a few things in the future, so I’m going to put the changes on here as well, so you can take your pick of versions.

 

Ingredients (made enough for 2 plus leftovers)

  • 1/2 green bell pepper, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, coarsely chopped
  • 2 carrots, coarsely chopped
  • 1 baking potato, coarsely chopped
  • 1 tomato, coarsely chopped (in the future, I would use a can of tomatoes to keep everything more moist. you pick)
  • 1 shallot, coarsely chopped (mostly because I was starving and lazy)
  • 1 clove garlic, finely chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 bagel, sliced
  • 2 eggs
  • butter

Steps:

  1. fill a deep 12-inch lidded skillet with about 1 inch of water and bring to a boil over medium heat.
  2. add the carrots and potatoes and cook with the lid on until almost fork tender, about 10 minutes.
  3. pour out most of the water, leaving just enough to cover the bottom of the pan and add in all the other vegetables. cook for about 5 minutes on medium heat , stirring frequently. Season with salt and pepper.
  4. turn the heat to low, and cook with the lid on for another 10-15 minutes, or until vegetables are very tender. If needed, add more water occasionally so nothing gets too dry.
  5. In another skillet, melt butter over medium-low heat and cook up 2 eggs however you like (I recommend somewhere between easy-and-medium)
  6. Toast the bagel slices.
  7. Serve one bagel slice with a heaping scoop (or two) of the vegetable mix and top with an egg. Serve open faced and hot hot hot!

One half a bagel with all this is probably enough for one person. Even if you just worked out…..Okay, I can’t lie. I ate two of these. Wow. Feels good to get that off my chest.

Leave me a reply here!

