Happy New Year: Spring Rolls


I must preface this post by letting you all know, I am not a professional spring roll -roller. Never have I made spring rolls before. Now, I have eaten plenty, that’s for sure. But never tried to make them myself. So I figured what better time to make Chinese Spring Rolls (also known as egg rolls) than Chinese New Year! And boy, do I sure wish I had made these sooner. 

Truth be told, they weren’t even hard to make. In fact, I might even call them downright easy. Well, sure some of mine looked like they had been squashed, or sat on, or just wilted, but I mean they tasted fine. And I think that Brett has found his calling, because his rolls were just so..rolly. Seriously all of the nice looking ones were ones he rolled. They do take a little bit of time to make, but not as much as I thought. We made Gyoza one time and those were much more difficult, so I was pleasantly surprised by these spring rolls. The best part is, the recipe makes a whole bunch and you can just freeze them up and then have spring rolls anytime you want! yessss..

So I got the recipe from SteamyKitchen. She is most definitely a professional spring-roll-roller. So I shall defer you to her for the recipe, as it comes with several rules you must follow.  I definitely recommend following them. I do, however, have a few notes, which might make the rolling process a bit easier, for those of us that are N00Bs.

               

1. I found the wrappers at a Japanese grocery here, and they only came in packs of 10. So I bought 4 thinking that would be not quite enough, but I only had enough filling for 25 egg rolls using her recipe. Perhaps mine were fatter than hers, but they met the 1.25inch criteria.

2. My wrappers weren’t perfectly square for some reason. This meant that the “folding” step was rather hard to do correctly. I think it just takes practice, but what helped was on the very first roll, being sure the filling is spread evenly and you roll very tightly:sushi style.

3. Don’t be afraid to fold too much. I do believe too much fold is better than not enough.

3 responses to “Happy New Year: Spring Rolls

  1. I noticed that your wrappers are almost burned; they should be golden brown, instead. To prevent this, just lower your fire a little bit.

  2. I don’t think they look burned. They look perfect – great job!

Leave me a reply here!

